St. Florianer Sängerknaben

Alois Mühlbacher

Soon after he joined the St. Florian Boys’ Choir in 2005, his great dramatic talent was discovered in a nativity scene – the musical talent was obvious – and before long, he was the choir’s foremost soloist.

He first achieved international recognition with spectacular CD recordings (including Queen of the Night, Zerbinetta, and songs by Gustav Mahler), which led to important engagements: At 15 he made his debut in the Vienna Staatsoper as “Young Shepherd” in the opera Tannhäuser under Franz Welser-Möst, and later in the same location he sang “Oberto” in Alcina (conductor: Marc Minkowski, live recording for DVD with Arthouse).

have listened to this CD and it is truly phenomenal. It is absolutely extraordinary!“
Ioan Holender on „ALOIS UNERHÖRT“

With the Boys’ Choir, to which he still feels bound today, he made concert tours around the world, and as soprano soloist he celebrated great triumphs on the stages of international concert halls (among others, he sang the soprano solo in Mahler’s 4. Symphony in the Salzburg Festspielhaus, and in Tokyo, the role of Yniold in “Pelleas et Melisande”). He was a soloist in “Christmas in Vienna”, and a 30-minute documentary about him was broadcast on ORF and ARTE.

All in all, his life as an artist was clearly influenced by the St. Florian Boys’ Choir “family”. He was not only a star and a claim to fame, but rather, over a number of years, a dependable and loyal member of the tradition-steeped chorus, with which he went on international concert tours.

Almost without interruption, his career as a countertenor continued: the now-grown Alois is proving with his still unusually flexible and nuanced voice that, as a countertenor, he can credibly interpret not only early music, but also songs. Read more about his career after leaving the St. Florian Boys’ Choir at www.aloismuehlbacher.at.

I have never heard such a boy’s voice in my entire life.
Franz Welser-Möst

St. Florianer Sängerknaben

Alois Mühlbacher

Schon bald nach seinem Einstieg bei den St. Florianer Sängerknaben im Jahr 2005 entdeckte man bei einem Krippenspiel sein großes schauspielerisches Talent – das musikalische war offensichtlich – und nach kurzer Zeit war er der herausragende Solist des Chores.

Mit spektakulären CD-Aufnahmen (u.a. Königin der Nacht, Zerbinetta, Lieder von Gustav Mahler) erregte er erstmals internationales Aufsehen, welches zu beachtlichen Engagements führte: Mit 15 Jahren debütierte er an der Wiener Staatsoper als „Junger Hirte“ in der Oper Tannhäuser unter Franz Welser-Möst, später sang er dort auch den „Oberto“ in Alcina (Dirigent: Marc Minkowski, Live-Mitschnitt auf DVD bei Arthouse).

Ich habe mir diese CD angehört und die ist geradezu phänomenal. Die ist absolut außerordentlich!
Ioan Holender über „ALOIS UNERHÖRT“
Direktor der Wiener Staatsoper a.D.

Mit den Sängerknaben, denen er sich auch heute noch verbunden fühlt, unternahm er Konzertreisen in die ganze Welt, als Sopransolist feierte er auf den Podien internationaler Konzertsäle große Erfolge (u.a. sang er im Salzburger Festspielhaus das Sopransolo in Mahlers 4. Symphonie, in Tokio die Rolle des Yniold in „Pelleas et Melisande“). Er war Solist bei „Christmas in Vienna“, im ORF und in ARTE wurde eine 30-minütige Dokumentation über ihn ausgestrahlt.

Alles in allem wurde sein künstlerisches Leben durch die „Sängerknabenfamilie“ in St. Florian maßgeblich geprägt. Er war nicht nur Star und Aushängeschild, sondern über viele Jahre auch verlässliches und treues Mitglied des traditionsreichen Chores, mit dem er weltweite Konzertreisen unternahm.

Fast bruchlos setzte sich seine Karriere in der Countertenorlage fort: Der jetzt erwachsene Alois beweist mit seiner weiterhin ungewöhnlich flexiblen und nuancenreichen Stimme, dass er auch als Countertenor nicht nur Alte Musik, sondern auch Lieder vollgültig interpretieren kann. Mehr über seine Karriere nach den St. Florianer Sängerknaben lesen Sie auf www.aloismuehlbacher.at.

Ich habe so eine Knabenstimme noch nie gehört in meinem Leben.
Franz Welser-Möst